top of page

GUEST POST!!


Have a little Faith in We was the perfect title to call this story, with the perfect author behind the title to tell it. I am the first guest writer I believe to appear on this blog and am most pleased to be doing so on this one year anniversary of its beginning. So who am I making an appearance to honor this day? I am the lucky man who appears next to the beautiful, selfless woman that runs these pages, the husband - Danny.

So why am I doing so and what do I have to say? There a few reasons for logging in unbeknownst to Jackie and posting this. One is that after 10 years you are searching for new and different ways to show your love and make the Mrs happy and there are only so many versions of funny dog or monkey cards and flowers that you can use before you need fresh material. Yes I have unknowingly presented the same card in back to back years. So this is certainly a fresh way to say I Love You.

I also wanted everyone to get a picture of the lady behind the blog and the one I love. If you ask pretty much anyone who knows Jackie what trait describes her the best, everyone would pretty much say something similar; her love of Starbucks her desire to make others happy. She is constantly out to make the ones she loves smile, feel loved, appreciated, or whatever else they need at that moment. And she does this often by sacrificing her own wants in the process. I see it day after day that family and friends get put ahead of so many other things. This is one of the traits that drove me to love her, and It is so endearing to see her care so much about the ones around us. She is quite simply someone you would have more than a little faith in.

In turn I work to be a husband that can uphold the faith that she shows in me and will continue to do so for all the more years that we are married. I’m saying this on the internet so A. it must be true and B. it will last in history forever. It is easy working be a better husband and man when you have a wife like I do. Beautiful, thoughtful, sweet are just a few of the words to try and describe her. Each day this I have been surprised with a present to remind me of a piece of our life together that each took remembering and treasuring a moment from the 10 years we have been together, the effort to get a gift that she would knew I would love, the wit and brilliance to write a little note with the gift, and most of all to do this not out of obligation, but that she genuinely wanted to make me happy above all else. She genuinely wanted to make me happy above all else - That is my wife described to the best of my limited English vocabulary.

That to me is what marriage boils down to. Above all else, make the other person genuinely happy. Not buying happiness or just a happy façade on the outside, but happy deep down inside. Over the last 5 years I hope I have done so. It can get tough at times, just the other morning I was told “I woke up and hoped that I didn’t have a roommate anymore, but nope” as we bumped into each making breakfast. To which we each had a good laugh and received a loving kiss backtracking what she really meant. To which I completely understood that it can be hard work to always have someone else in mind. Hard work builds up a relationship and is all worth it. I told Jackie early on when dating that it was my job to keep her laughing and smiling and I haven’t gotten fired yet so I vow to keep working hard at it.

We have been there for each other through good times and bad, sickness and health (boy there have been more than enough times of sickness she has dealt with) and will continue to do so. We have done it with the help of incredible family and friends. Going into year 6 we have 5 years to learn from and I can honestly say I think we are in as good of a place as any point in those 5 previous years. I would do anything for my wife and continue to give her every reason to have a little faith in me. I Love you Jac!

Danny – the husband

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page