top of page

Weekend - That's A Wrap!

Hello friends! We are continuing to readjust to life and I am sorta stinking at it. For starters, I thought I had posted this…..sigh. Bear with me - I am finally getting back to my regular pace- but a few miles behind. In the meantime - enjoy this weekend wrap up from the last weekend in June….. it was a good one!!

It is Friday of another holiday weekend - WAHOO!!! We are of course really looking forward to three days off, continuing to get back to life as we like it, and a chance to get a little more progress done on the homestead. Plus it is the start of JULY!!! One of our favorite months of the year with celebrations and memories galore. Life is good.

Last weekend was our first full weekend home since Dan’s hospital time and with him feeling better we ventured out a bit. Starting Thursday with a little movie date to see Inside Out. Folks it was great. We went to a later showing, in a brand new theater with lazy boy type loungers, 2 complimentary popcorns and they served wine….it was awesome. The moments of frustration wondering when we would leave those hospital walls are still very much present in my thoughts so to be on a date - just simple fun date - was a blast. Really - I was practically giddy. Then the movie started and from the first few moments Danny and I were cracking up! It has hockey, it has family, it has humor touching on all aspects of life from marriage to spastic pets!! The group of younger kiddos behind us chuckeled, but not like our belly laughing. Great movie and highly recommended, escpeially if you are looking just to escape.

Friday I worked my normal day and then headed home to get ready for our big night out - my grandmother’s 92nd birthday party! If you are a regular around this blog, then Ganmommy is a repeat character. She is my mother’s mom, mom to 7, grandmother to 25 (where MOST of the girls are named Jackie after her), great grandmother to 2 and one of the most positive, energetic, happy people you will ever meet. And what is always so amazing about my Ganmommy? Her happiness is very much a choice. In her world she has faced a lot of sadness, she has been challenged on my lifesytle choices, she loves sports, hates cooking and clothes, loves to be with her family - but prefers that it happen in her backyard. She is just one of a kind. In her era marriage and children were the life plan, especially for debutant such as herself - instead she got married a little later in life (for her era mind you!), earned a masters degree and took a job for a few years first, and choose to marry for love to a Irish navy man versus someone of her own pedigree. From the start she has always swam life as a salmon - against the grain - and these days, she still is no different. We love her so much for just being her. And as I have shared before, the love and admiration my husband and grandmother have for each other has been the kind of thing that makes my heart feel as if it stopped today - all is right in the world. I am so proud to call them my family and I am so honored to be a Jackie in honor of her.

Saturday was rainy, quiet, and all about being HOME. It was only a few months before that we dreamt of being in this new place, setting up our furniture, making a home - it still feels a little dreamlike when we are just doing household stuff. Add how cute Danny is in his “handy man” look - so my quiet Saturday felt as perfect as perfect can be!!

And Finally on Sunday we did our mass thing, some work, some errands, but best part of the day??? We did a make-up Father’s Day for Danny’s Dad John! They came to our neck of the woods, for a little wine and patio gazing, before we headed to Ford’s Fish Shack for dinner. Another regular spot if you hang with us! It is a very true to form New England style foodie spot - with the BEST margaritas!!

And as you can see from my Father-in-Law’s plates…..the food was VERY good - exactly how he expects his summer Cape Cod dinners to taste!

Just a week ago we all huddled together in a hosptial room - exchanging ideas for how to help Danny, praying for a change, hoping that the bump in this road was not too big….. and then just like that we are back to living the good life!!! Good drinks, great food, and family time….. I know I am sounding EXTRA annoying with all my “awesome” “great” - blah blah blah……. but folks, these little moments, they are such a gift, I just can’t stop soaking them all up! Seeing Danny smile, hearing him talk about our summer plans, ideas for the house, I sat at dinner just staring at him - knowing the best gift I have ever received in this life, the moments of pure love that radiate from when I see him happy. We have our ups and downs - we have good and bad, and Lord knows we have health and sickness - but these moments that you see God’s hand play out in your life…. those are what life is about. Thank you God for the gift of this night.

For this weekend - well we have cancelled all plans and are really laying low. Danny needs to rest and is feeling a bit worn out… and that is just fine by me. We are home, we are surrounded by love and family…. and I live in the best country in the world. That’s a good Fourth. Enjoy yours people and we will talk later!

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page