top of page

Weekend - That's A Wrap!

Hello friends! Happy Tuesday……hope you are having a lovely week and staying COOL!

Our weekend was as low key as it gets……starting with Chinese food and the return of Orange is the New Black on Friday Night. Danny has been working at the office all week, I am concluding a week where the schedule was per usual (too much work and not enough hours) - plus the new blog projects ….. so a night at home, in sweats, with take out was pretty much the only way to spend Friday night.

Saturday we were scheduled to join our friend’s at their little sweet girl’s baptism. Anytime we have a chance to share a Sacrament with our friends and family - I stop in awe, thinking of the thousands of years these words have been said, these faithful practices that unite us to one another and the Body of Christ have taken place and I love to witness that miracle. Sadly however this day, Danny was really feeling the long, tough week and we missed it.

Instead Saturday was spent at home sleeping, snacking, cleaning, and writing. I felt some guilt as the sun poured in the windows and we were clad in our fleece PJs hiding out….but sometimes, even in the glorious days of summer - you have to hibernate, so hibernate we did! And for me, some serious blog working and writing was just the therapy I needed to shake off the week.

By the time Saturday night rolled around, we figured dinner out was in order. Since we had barely left the house all day…..so we threw on some jeans and enjoyed our favorite little Greek spot in Ashburn. No frills….no mess….no big bill ….. perfect simple date night for our simple weekend.

Sunday morning we awoke and had to hit the ground running…as fast as a Bessette can run in the morning hours…..so we were up by 10! Promise me it is all about good intentions?? We accomplished mass, contract work, and then both went separate ways for the night - Danny to spring hockey and myself to a Juice Plus Party with my mom!

Side note: we cleared off Quinlan's stuff today to try and make more room in the bed and keep things cooler...guess who put it back......

For almost 12 years my mom has been nurturing, learning, growing, and sharing with others her passion for Juice Plus. She is not the center stage type of gal. In a crowd she is the friendly face or with a funny comment and is one of the best people readers I know - but front and center, loud and proud, one looking for the microphone….nope!

Watching her grow her business, hearing her talk about what she has learned, her commitment to keep going, and her dreams for the future have been more emotional than I would ever have guessed! Just like I NEVER envisioned her giving speeches….but she does!

This alfresco wine toast was the cheers to what the journey of Juice Plus has been in the Washington DC area and how the best is yet to come! And for me to watch my mom continue to morph, grow, and dream - after already dedicating life to raising 5 crazy kiddos (who still need her daily) - it is amazing and I am so very proud of her!

And the final note for today….. some shadows from the past cast their dark presence across my world today. Suddenly I was transported back to a time when I had a hard moment of not being accepted, learning not everyone is going to get you, and when your down how to focus on what matters. The Time Machine was so strong, I found myself reaching out to some of the people who had gotten me through that time yet again - for the same coaching: “move on” , “it is not you it is them”….. and these memories and the new potential frustrations weighed on me. The pit of my stomach was under attack - yet I was able to stop the cycle. I was able to say no to my emotions. And best of all I was able to ask those people to be with me in this moment, yet again, and they were. I am grateful for my circle, and so appreciative those individuals have given me the courage to stop the cycle and keep ghosts in the background.

If something or someone is haunting you -do the best you can to get through your moment, but if there is any way you can control the emotions, stop the cycle - I encourage you to do so -and learn the easier way…..instead of trying it out first. Freedom comes from not giving in….I promise you.

Hope this week brings you a chance to enjoy the sunshine, but if you have to hibernate….go ahead and do that too! Happy Tuesday!

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page