top of page

All of the Elephants

Last week I wrote out to the universe about how you eat an elephant. Since I am still working on becoming the best blogger in the world (I know - shocking), I am still drafting, proofing, and publishing most of my posts in the same 24 hours….perhaps even in the same 2 hours. As a result, I fear, maybe even know, my thoughts, my vision, and my messages are not crystal clear. This particular post I actually nodded off while proofing and posting - TWICE. My elephants are feeling pretty dang large and my appetite mirrors that of when you come off the flu: hungry, food looks and sounds great, but actually consuming - scary. This post ended up being more relevant, more eye opening, and mattering more than I could ever had imagined - just a mere 24 hours later.

Wednesday I got home from work and was just the perfect mix of wanting to enjoy the beautiful outdoors and exhausted by the to dos swirling in my head. To dos from my day job, to dos for my contract work, to dos for my blog, to dos for my home, to dos for my family…. to dos, to dos, to dos. If you have read more than a few posts this is a common theme and I am constantly looking to remedy it - not as though it is an illness, more as a shortcoming - because I know I want more from myself and my world. I fear that between weekend wrap ups and puppy posts this is all my readers would find here - planing tools, re-starts, and dreams of the perfect calendar …..all bright beginnings with new wide open doors that are only to be slammed shut a few days/weeks, posts later. Yet, it was on my heart to put that topic out there. Often my internal monologue that says to be me and be honest on my blog outweighs the entertaining factor or stories of success I also hope to provide. In the end I think the true message I hope to share is one of remaining positive during roadblocks and learning to adjust to reach your goals - but there is always that concern of this blog really just being a place to vent. In these moments I have to just say I am on this journey and I am putting the best foot forward that I can. So I wrote it.

Hitting post I went to sleep tired and wondering a bit if I am crazy to do this all or maybe am I achieving my dream of using every last drop of energy to further my goals since I literally can’t keep my eyes open to finish this post - and DAMN IT I am going to post it. Thursday came just like any other day until I hit my face - like right between my eyes - on a new goal, a new opportunity, a chance to do something great - to change my life. Dramatic as this may be - when I step back and review the scene in my head I know this thing (unclear, untimed, undefined) could change my life dramatically. And yet - it was taking my elephant and multiplying it by at least three. How - in just a few hours earlier - could I give a speech on the world wide web about eating an elephant ONE. BITE. AT. A. TIME…. and then be contemplating a potential life change that triples my elephant? Because that is life.

Image source unknown

The change, the opportunity, the details are not about the blog and do not affect just my personal life, so they are not to fill the pages of HALF. But they are going to call on changes in my world and an actual demand for my world to change - just as it felt like I may be getting settled - to manage. And the managing aspect - that is for the blog. Finding the ability to make my world happen is something I hope to share with all of you….. one bite at a time. Because no matter how large the elephant - it has become so desperately obvious that one bite at a time is literally all I can do for next steps. And setting myself and my family up for success - good communication, schedules, priorities, stable health - is non-negiotable and a very big part of our story, the story I tell here.

So I have written that post, I have been surprised at how quickly I must heed my own advice, and then just like that I find a plethora of others feeling the same, of resources for just this topic, and I find comfort in knowing where this path could lead. Were these signs always there? Have others been feeling this all along? Have these stories been shared before? Have these opportunities for inspiration and action been under my nose the whole time and I am just now opening my eyes? Or have I been so very close to some true answers and just never quite jumped into the pool? I don’t know…… but suddenly the answers, the choices, the time to take the inspiration and translate it to my own actions are appearing in the little things and the big ones. How so very strange - but perhaps serendipitous timing??

All to be continued…..but for now I am going to try and herd my elephants, line them up, and take one bite at a time…..and see what happens next.

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page