top of page

Weekend - That's A Wrap!

Happy Monday everyone! How was your weekend? Did you soak up the sun? Did you spring clean? Hope you are enjoying this time of year as much as we are at the Bessette Household!

Friday was pretty relaxed. After a weird week at work it was great to just get home and hang with my hubby and pup! A dinner on the deck - complete with queso and Corono was just what the doc ordered. Followed by a movie and late evening stroll I was a happy girl. What is it about Fridays, with the promise of a full weekend ahead that is so exciting??? Sometimes just knowing there are two whole days awaiting with all sorts of adventures - big and small - is the best part!

Saturday morning I got up early to work while the boys snoozed. I grabbed a bagel and my Starbucks and enjoyed a little morning sun…..yet could not quite get the energy and motivation to get moving. I have been so tired lately and it felt like every time I closed my eyes I envisioned a to do list of sorts…. so why couldn’t I just dive in??? What was holding me back?? This was my chance to really sink my teeth into some work and yet I just couldn’t do it.

Instead of being frustrated and continuing to stare into blank space trying to find my motivation I cut myself a break. Grabbed my Real Simple magazine and coffee and just read. After about 40 minutes I felt better, I had let my wave of frustration and lack of motivation pass, and I was ready to dive into work. After a few hours I lifted my head and felt better…but still so much to do and it just did not seem like there was enough time for work AND living life.

For now, no time to stress so I ate lunch, we did a little clean up around the house and hit the showers to get ready for some friends’ housewarming BBQ/Birthday. Ryan and Megan are good friends of ours and we are thrilled for their new home - such an exciting time to make a new place yours (we should know~!~~!)! An afternoon hanging out in their new backyard, eating snacks, surrounded by dogs….it was a great Spring day. In fact a few moments I distinctly told myself to take a deep breath or feel the warm sun on my skin - it was not that long ago that we wondered if the snow would EVER stop - and now look at us soaking up the spring - magnificent!

Saturday night we got home and watched a little DVR, but mostly planned to go to bed and get a jump start on Sunday. All was going well as we started to talk about the day and the week ahead while winding down for the night ….AND THEN IT HIT - melt down. Something stopped me in my tracks (still not sure what did it) and the flood gates opened. I confessed my frustration that morning with trying to work, I lost it with the thought that every time I closed my eyes I was thinking about what I needed to do, and I mourned my foot that had been just a little sore after my 5K had suddenly turned into a swollen painful mess - and my grumpy little mind screamed out - "and to top it all off your body is sabotaging one good thing you got going!!!” Folks -I was a mess.

Danny was completely caught off guard. We had a good Saturday mixed with a little work and a little play. It was not Sunday night at 10PM and we already were planning the week AHEAD OF SCHEDULE- poor fella was thinking this is usually the stuff that helps keep her calm!! After 5 years of marriage I have to hand it to Danny, he managed me beautifully. Just like a little kiddo he recognized the best thing I could do was to get some sleep. And that is exactly what we did.

The next morning after my morning coffee and a little work time Danny helped me clean every inbox, to do list, and outstanding item I had floating around the office, stuck to the bottom of my purse or somewhere on a post it. We reviewed my to do list, prioritized, he took a few items for me and we planned the week. The problem I was facing was a mix of trying to cram too much in on an already stressed person, not keeping up with things so I never knew where to even start when I sit down to work, and letting my sacred space for creativity and work become overrun with clutter. Folks- I was on a cloud 9! It was Sunday at 2PM and I actually was prepared for the week with a huge chunk of the day left to get some things done.

That evening I met my parents at mass (where my mom took a look at my purple swollen foot and agreed that something may be wrong) and had much needed quiet time with the Lord. After Danny and I had dinner and continued to plan a solid week of healthy scheduling with an added challenge to help each other fit in a little exercise everyday - keep the endorphins flowing. And not best of all - but truly the most generous of all, Danny said our normal Sunday evening of TV watching and us time was being given to me to work a little and then make sure I hit the hay early.

By the time Monday rolled around and I was on the lake path with Q at 6:20AM for a springtime morning walk, knowing the day ahead had a plan, purpose and was set up for success I felt like a million bucks. Only to make it an even better day finding that I had extra vacation time I have to use or lose before June 30 - so I am taking Friday off! If you continue to move forward best you can - and keep around the ones who can help you move forward when your feet forget the way - you might be surprised what can happen to fill your needs…..just gotta keep going.

Have a great week folks!!

Tags:

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page