top of page

Weekend - That's A Wrap!

Hello friends! Happy Monday! It was a Monday for sure in my neck of the woods! A jam packed to do list, a dentist appointment, errands….and I planned to leave the office on time today to make the most of my night time hours AND left at 7PM. Bright side - it is Monday so I get to try again tomorrow!

Last week I fought yet ANOTHER cold that wiped me out! I am so blessed with pretty good health (thank you Mom!) normally, that my patience for being sick is pretty null and void! But Thursday I woke up completely exhauseted and the cold had moved to my chest. We already had quartined me to the bedroom and instituted a no touching/breathing on each other etc rule in our house to keep Danny healthy. But when it moved to my chest, I knew this cold was NO JOKE and I needed to really kick it. A day in bed did me good!

IMG_3570.JPG

So when Friday came around and I headed back to work - Friday night was 100% PJs, TV and catching up on thank you notes. Not very glamorous and I know Quinlan was pretty disappointed in that choice….but just what I needed.

IMG_3574.JPG

That night we went to bed with the promise of a snow storm - we heard 1-3 inches, 4-8 inches and someone even said something about 11 inches. But we have been duped before this year and did not make much of it! When I got up the next day at 8:30AM it was already coming down and hard! I had just enough time to run out for Starbucks, hand soup and a pack of pens - literally all the things I need to survive any emegency! And luckily Danny had gone to the store the night before - so we were cleared for a day in, away the snow.

IMG_3576.JPG
IMG_3589.jpg

We ventured out to take Quinlan for a walk and he liked it okay….earlier in the week when we had just gotten 1-2 inches he loved it. He was playing and running around like a crazy shiba! He would put his whole face in the snow and shoot it back up the in the air to send the snow flying and and giving him a beard of ice and wet….that he would wear proudly down the street or as he patrolled the yard. But this snow- it ate him up! He did venture out in and would go for short walks but for the most part being in and warm was preferred.

IMG_3586.JPG

IMG_3582.JPG
IMG_3581.JPG
IMG_3578.JPG

Other plans had been made for this Saturday - including Danny going to his Beer League end of year party and my Aunt’s 50th Decades Dress up party, but both were cancelled (you will just have to wait for the Heppes family Costume reveal!!). So we had a day at home and it was GLORIOUS! I rested, I organized, I came up with a new idea (coming soon!!) for my work life balance, I mastered Evernote (ummm sorta), I got things off the to do list, did a long run on the treadmill….and maybe, just maybe most exciting of all….DRUM** ROLL ** PLEASE**: we prepared for a new home and moving!!!! Yes!! We got word this past week that our top rental pick is ours!! We move the weekend of March 15 and we are so very, very excited! So with all that we have coming up a snow day in was perfect!!

IMG_3590.JPG

Sunday was actually pretty much the same - day in to catch up and breath…but the temperatures had risen A LOT outside. In fact the sun did a lot of the snow removal for us which was really nice. We were able to end the weekend heading to church, the store and making Chinese food at home, followed by a sundae and some of our favorite Sunday night TV.

IMG_3597.JPG

It was an unbelievably quiet weekend. I had time on my hands for hours….and yet I still felt like I did 100 things but dreamt of doing 150 more! I was still fighting the cold which could be part of it and I do have a lot on my plate so it is going to take a lot to move it….I am still trying to work out the realities of what I want to be doing with my time and actually doing it…..but a snow day being indoors and cranking through some things was just what I needed. I am grateful for this little pause and I am even more grateful for all the FUN we have coming between now and April….hang on to your shorts folks - things are getting REAL!!

IMG_3571.JPG

And when I did have a moment today to reflect on the crazy that was this Monday……I also got a chance to reflect on this: my cousin’s 9 day old little girl Mallory Albi Casey! Albi is my grandmother’s maiden name and a VERY popular name in the Flaherty family - we are all so thrilled to see it move onto yet another generation. To my cousin Jaclyn - we played dolls growing up for years and now I can’t believe our little make believe world is coming true….I am so proud and happy for you and your beautiful kiddos….. Love you and thanks for the Monday smiles!!

IMG_3564_edited.PNG
IMG_3599.JPG

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page