top of page

Hockey Holiday

Our holiday season this year was chalk full of hockey. Sports is a cornerstone of Danny’s world - period. He has loved them his whole life and gone from sports admirer: watching his older brother from the time he could just barely walk ,to a participant: being student athlete of the week of our local news station and captain of his high school hockey team since Junior year, to the final stage coach. He loves a variety of sports and even as our relationship has morphed different sports have held priority.

Our first summer together it was all about baseball - which was just fine by me! Growing up in a family that enjoys baseball I could TOTALLY hang. And by hang I mean I got most of the basics, could rock a baseball hat and LOVE a good hot dog. As the colder months approached football was Dan’s thing. I don’t know football (I should because of my family’s many connections and passions), but I just have never picked it up as well. I can wear the jersey’s, eat the food and drink the cocktails….but that is where it ends. That first year we were together Danny was assisting a little with middle school hockey, but I was away at college and the NHL was on lock out. I knew Danny as a hockey player - and we totally went ice skating for our first Christmas holiday together….but that was about it.

Well years later - hockey has been a BIG part of our world - Capitals games, getting involved with O'Connell's hockey and I have come to learn THIS is Danny’s sport. He has an incredible passion, natural ability, and strong sense for coaching it. He truly loves it and I truly love watching him love it. So now that Christmas has added the new tradition of hockey - we both are really enjoying it.

Ozone Logo.jpg

The O’Connell Hockey season closed down for Christmas break following the Stonebridge Game. Such a sad loss - but a really exciting time for DJO. The fan base is building, the energy and excitement are growing, and the future for the Knight Hockey program is looking bright. They did not win, but it left them hungry and excited for the tournament that would come following Christmas.

Even more exciting was that game igniting a deep burn and urgency for my favorite hockey coach to lace up his own skates and on December 26th Danny participated in the O’Connell alumni game. Last year was the first year they held the reunion and the new coaching staff was shocked - players from the past turned out in droves! People had an absolute blast at the game and then stayed for the happy hour well beyond “happy hour” time. It was a lot of fun and so this year even more folks came to play!

IMG_3225.jpg

The morning of the 26th I was not sure how Danny was even going to make it. He had a very slow moving Christmas and logging a LOT of sleep in between the merriment - really having to push himself to get up and enjoy. He did it though - and I was worried that would mean he could not even begin to play on the 26th. But after sleeping most of the day away as the evening descended Dan packed his stuff and headed over. He planned to sorta just hang out not he bench - maybe do a shift or two - but keep it really low key.

IMG_3235.JPG

IMG_3232.JPG

O my stubborn man….they could not keep him away. Now I could tell (and he continued to say) he did not go full speed, he was pretty relaxed and played significantly less shifts than others - but surprisingly not that few. And he looked awesome. Sure he was not full speed and yea he looked a bit winded at times….but you can see with the ease of his skates, the natural shifting of hands and stick - he is a hockey player. This is his sport - and on the ice he feels like himself.

IMG_3228.JPG

Danny’s parents, other older players’ families and friends all came out and we had a great night. Ending with an overview of what the O’Connell program expects to find in its future, a presentation and a great party with food, drinks and a lot of old hockey stories. I left there so impressed with my hubs who continues to live life to the fullest at every turn and glad that I have been able to see this passion of his played out live.

IMG_3220.JPG

Before the holidays started I looked at all the time my office had closed and made one whopper of a to do list. I was going to going into 2015 with the biggest bang you can imagine - ya know how I do! But then the holidays were a flurry of B-U-S-Y, Danny was sick and pretty down and out, and then I caught his nasty cold. My energy was depleated, my to do lists looked like mount everest- I just did not have it in me. Sleeping the weekend away as Sunday night rolled around I felt a little better- but also like a slug barely out of PJs and just sleeping on and off all day long. I needed to try and shake this cold - at least for a little bit.

IMG_3224.jpg
IMG_3236.jpg

Shower, sunday night mass and Starbucks and I was feeling a little better and decided to head with my parents downtown to the DC rink where Dan’s kids tournament was being held. It is a really old rink and VERY, VERY cold, I was a little nervous this could make me feel worse. But instead I felt good. The cool air cleared my sinuses and watching Dan coach a really fun game - it was more than worth it.

IMG_3245.JPG

As the tournament went on Danny’s team would continue to play as long as they won. As the week went on I was in and out of feeling better and really hoping to get to my to do’s! We even said I will only pick a few more games to go to and then stay home and be productive. On Monday I drove down with Danny and as we went we talked about the game from the night before. I asked questions, told him what I was ‘assessing’ about how each player was doing and why certain calls were good or bad and even dared to guess at the coaching strategy for the games. Much to my surprise - I was getting it. Danny confirmed my thinking, agreed with some of my assessment and noted some good things that I had picked up.

IMG_3244.JPG

Feeling informed, viewing exciting games, multiple Starbucks stops, driving through the city to get to the rink, and all while chatting and laughing or listening to the Serial podcast together. I was HOOKED. My to do list was forgotten and any energy not zapped by my cold was all put towards going to the games. It was a blast. Everyday we had a mini date already set and time to escape together. I had no idea how much fun I would have and how much us time we would find with our hockey excursions. This ended up being one of my favorite times of our holiday break.

IMG_3259.PNG

And not only was I picking up some of the lingo - I was talking the talk with parents and coaches - I was even the one to give directions to the team here from Canada on where they could get new sticks for the kids who had broken theirs the tournament. My hockey wife status was really starting to come together and I loved it.

The kids did not place and unfortunately were not in the final rounds - but the same message came true - O’Connell hockey has a bright future and so much to look forward to and more importantly in Danny’s mind work towards - never a bad place to be! In these moments as Danny was coaching in a rink he lived in as a player, with gorgeous views of the DC skyline and Washington Monument, the winter sun set streaked through the windows, I was feeling pretty blessed to be in this moment. We are not always where we **thought**or hoped to be at this point in our world, but some of the moments we are blessed with are pretty incredible. And I am so glad we soaked them up.

Our hockey holiday culminated in pretty much the most ideal fashion - Danny went to the Winter Classic held in Nationals Stadium on New Year’s day. Tickets were pretty pricey and it was a big hockey badge of honor to be at this game. All the hockey families we know, all those that coach hockey and many who have played their whole lives made their way to that baseball stadium and had a blast. Danny was feeling pretty rough at then end of his tough cold, after a crazy Christmas and full days of hockey coaching….but he made it and said it is a memory to last a lifetime.

IMG_3271.JPG

For me - games on TV are about as hard as they come to get into. Sure I can totally get on board when we are there, dressed the part, feeling the energy of the crowd and eating the perfect game day snacks…..but at home on the couch while I have other distractions calling my name….its hard for me to get into. The Winter Classic is actually different. Our first Christmas and New Year’s together as the Bessette’s the Capitals played in the Winter Classic and appeared in a reality show all about the experience leading up to the game. Again I repeat a reality show where I can see these players go home to their families, I can check out the wives, I can get the gossip and dirt….only the BEST WAY EVER to watch sports. That first year I was hooked!! And the winter classic that year was one of the first games I remember being very into while watching on TV.

Cuddled up on the coach of our cute little place in Old Town watching the game and cheering together - it is a memory that still brings me butterflies and warms my heart. This particular tradition holds a special spot in my heart and for Danny to be there this year, a part of it - living out his continues dream of being right in the pulse of a sports phenomena…… we both were really, really happy he was there.

This Christmas season brought us a lot of excitement - both good and bad, but the hockey holiday portion, much to this not so sporty girls’ surprise was VERY MUCH on the good end and I am so glad we have these memories.

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page