top of page

Christmas 2014

We are talking a lot about 2015 - but we can’t really forget about 2014 without a few look backs over the Christmas Season!

Over Christmas week I shared my vision - the one where all of the shopping was done, wrapped, Christmas Cards were being addressed by the fire - and that my vision never really happened - not even close in fact! However it was on the Eve of Christmas Eve that Danny said - this year, can you not melt down? Can we not argue our way through the holidays?

If I am anything - I am real and although it pains me to say this, Christmas gets stressful for us. Certainly there are a lot of moments that make me pause and smile - and especially when it is about our own personal traditions. Several times I have stopped in my steps and relished the feeling that this moment or activity- our first Christmas tree, shopping together, our Christmas cards- is one I have dreamt and hoped for since I was a little girl. But amongst those moments is the balance between family, the many to dos, the many expenses, - it can be hard. Christmas season for Danny in the past few years has often also included illness and even the emergency room.

Those stressful moments resulted in my melting down. And as embarrassing as it is - it has been in front of family or my mother has been tearfully called right after. My melt down is sometimes even shared by Danny which does not look quite the same as mine (crying in my flannel PJs), but resulted in a fender bender or serious spending spree at Best Buy (panic buys for sure). The worst part of all of these melt downs - they almost always lead to us arguing, sniping at each other,or sending some evil looks across the family filled room. None of them ever last that long or truly ruin anything - but they take away from the season and drive a wedge between us. On the Eve of Christmas Eve Danny asked me to promise this year would be different, and it was all because we made a conscious decision it would be!

Why this promise? Why were we in a better frame of mind this year? Well I venture to say it was the fun night we planned the evening of the 23rd - It’s A Wonderful Life in the movie theatre with our good friends the McCombers. Danny LOVES this movie - and I had never really grown up watching it, but had come to love it for him. Truth betold though I can’t say I really ever watched it closely - you know without wrapping presents or checking my to do list off in my head - but this year on the silver screen, I got it. The story of faith and love with gratitude no matter the circumstance was just right. This night with this movie we both made a conscious effort to ignore the un-done to dos, mid-way wrapping jobs, the neglected Christmas Cards and instead was swallowed up in the feelings of the season, it was great.

IMG_3157.JPG

This little tradition is now going on three years! We have joined Court and Jamie for Scrooged and Home Alone too - and it is always a treat. Courtney and I worked together in a previous career life. She has become a strong confidant over the years with an incredibly loving heart, wise words, and fiery spirit that has truly enriched my world. We have stayed friends much beyond our professional introduction and with her husband’s love of the Orioles, BBQ,, and appreciation for married life- we all four have developed a great bond. The perfect folks with whom to kick off the Christmas days!

So the perfect mix of seeing Court and Jamie and watching such an ideal movie - Danny was motivated to help us both relish in the season. Which was perfect timing as I arrived home to my unfinished Pinterest project that was required for my co-workers the next day! It was already nearing the 11PM hour and I still had some painting to do…..but Danny was a trooper! He was helping me the best he can…..but mostly just making me laugh, getting us both in a good spirit to enjoy our families and friends to come. It was a great Eve before the Eve!

The next morning rolled in quickly….as I forced myself from my warm bed to work for just a few hours. The office was to close at 1PM and really it was just a small few of us - my team mostly - there making it actually quite nice. Wrapping up final to do’s, wishing Happy Holidays and “baring down the hatches” before closing until January 2 was actually really exciting. I love the feeling of fun to come and excitement just around the corner….just like at Thanksgiving. And this time excitement came EARLY! At 11AM they closed the office down and we were off to enjoy. But not before my gifts were handed out and enjoyed by all! If you are looking for a really nice gift check out Katie’s tutorial for hand painted wine glasses! We gave these to our co-workers, family, hostesses of various parties and they were a hit!

You can see a few I kept for us in this decor layout - I use them for candel holders!

IMG_3262.jpg

As I got home Danny and I finished up our packing and gathering our brightly wrapped packages - getting ready for another Christmas in Northern VA! Both of our families are not far from each other so we do spend a decent amount of time shuffling back and forth….but it works out pretty well…..always just need a nap or three after it is said and done. And I can say there were a few moments that I got overwhelmed or frustrated packing, dragging my anxious pup around, trying to remember all our gifts - and in that moment I thought of our promise or I said to Dan “I need a minute” and stole away. So much better than a melt down (and sometimes resulted in a Starbucks run :))!

Once we were ready to roll I jumped in the shower to get ready for the evening. My dad’s family were all coming over for a late lunch and a secret santa exchange. It was fun and delicious and really exciting as we had a recent engagement to celebrate (Congrats to Eddie and Caroline!)! The most memorable moment from this crew - my grandmother’s gift. She LOVES Christmas - always has! When I picture here at Christmas I see her red sequin berie and funky holiday sweaters. Just as excited as us kids to see what was under the tree. I always thought it was so cool how much more excited she was than the other adults.

As time has wore on she is wheelchair bound and much more tired. For the past few years she has asked my parents to get us gifts on her behalf or offered gift cards - always generous, but in her mind never really festive. Well this year she went to her nursing homes little gift shop and bought us each a gift. It was really sweet and my aunt helped her tie a bow on each item. Making the gift that much more real - it was truly from her, with what little energy she has to give - she gave it all. We all were really apprecitive.

As this gathering continuend on my in-laws actually popped in for a bite and cup of cheer before we all headed to mass together. The mass time which fit our plans best was 4PM and so they joined us at our current parish - were I grew up and Danny and I got married. I was actually really looking forward to Christmas Service there - I had not had Christmas at Saint Theresa since I have been married! And the homily was good, the church adorned with holly and poinsettias - but the crowds…..they were overflowing! The heat of the room was unbearable and the volume of the kiddos pretty shocking for mass. We did our best to stand in the corner and focus - but the heat was really getting to Danny. He was just starting the bad cold that ended him at Hopkins - so the clammy environment was just too much. We made 80% of the way - but ended up leaving early.

My faith is so important to me and it really is easy for it to get lost in the shuffle or this case the crowds - of the season. I was saddened to be someone who gave up - but my role this season was to really be there for Danny. So said my prayers, ignored any desire to complain or be negative about mass’s crowd or leaving and we headed home. This ended up being the best thing as it gave us extra time before our dinner reservation for Danny to sleep. Thus beginning our Christmas schedule for this year - 2 hours of visiting and 1 hour of nap for Dan. This particular cold hit me after the holidays and I was SHOCKED out how much it wiped me out - so looking back I am pretty impressed with this effort.

At about 6 we headed to my in-laws to drop off Quinlan and all load into one car for dinner. We had a nice Italian dinner out - a pretty common theme for Bessette family nights out! Dinner was nice - good wine, good food, good company. We are really blessed to have both sets of Christmas experiences each and every year - my family is the loud and boustourious group and Danny’s family offer the cozy, quiet moments of the season. Which is exactly what we found after dinner for our family Christmas. We were totally spoiled and wonder what it will look like if they ever have grandkids that don’t have a tail! We spent the night there - camped out in the basement in front for of the fireplace, all three of us - my heart was happy.

IMG_3163.JPG
IMG_3161.JPG
IMG_3193.JPG
IMG_3186.jpg

This night is special for Danny and I - celebration of our engagement. Five years ago I said YES! And Danny chose me to be his wife….this night is made so much more special by this cherished milestone.

IMG_3160.JPG

IMG_3168.JPG
IMG_3182.jpg

For many years the Bessette’s have hosted a Christmas breakfast with neighbors. It is a neat tradition that have seen several different neighbors come and go - and some who have long since left the neighborhood can be found round the table every year. It was one of the few traditions I did not participate in until we were married - kind of a right of passage that I have always enjoyed. This year Quinlan added to the merriment….and noise! Sorry everyone we have a barker!

1016317_10204290461795668_4486343792597665205_n.jpg

10801543_10204290460915646_2899847909056640793_n.jpg
10891746_10204290461115651_4224911747133397949_n.jpg

As brunch wrapped up we did not have too much downtime before Dan’s cousin Chris and her daughters Mel and Amanda, and Aunt Linda and Uncle Rob came to visit. We ate and ate and ate some more - toasted, played a game and laughed….really hard. All of these family members do not live that far and yet we find months and months go by without a visit. It was a treat to see them and toast the new year plans they all have - a wedding, new jobs, back to school, retirement. Family is all about being there to celebrate all seasons of your life and we are feeling pretty lucky to be with them to cheers 2015!

10384761_10204290461235654_141382818559804096_n.jpg
10678642_10204290461595663_7118444763129743649_n.jpg

Before we knew it the afternoon was closing in and the sky was streaked with the first signs of sunset….time for the Heppes' home!

IMG_3211.JPG

IMG_3206.JPG

Heading over to my parent’s we enjoyed more gifts - for folks that are heading into the 30s (and not big santa believers anymore) we get pretty spoiled still!! Dinner was a delectable tenderloin, dessert for days and the drinks were flowing. My grandmother, uncle and Aunt were all with us…..and even our favorite family friends the Scallions popped in for a cup of cheer! This portion of the day always feels like such a whirlwind…..but I love seeing my childhood home full and everyone excited for new stories and a lot of oldies too!

IMG_3210.JPG

IMG_3207.JPG

It is always hard to not have all my siblings at home - Grant was with his girlfriend’s family in Florida since they came here for Thanksgiving. And it is really hard for me to not wake up with my siblings and “see what santa brought” even when we are all grown up. But I think we all do a great job of being excited for the new lifestyle and supportive of the changes….cause that is what family does!

IMG_3203.JPG

IMG_3213.JPG
IMG_3215.JPG

Finally we headed back to my in-laws that night. Our Hockey Holiday (post coming soon!!) started the next day closer to their house so we spent Christmas night in front of the fire as our little family of three.

IMG_3198.jpg

We hope you all enjoyed a most joyous season and thank you for letting us recap ours! And just in case you are wondering what the scene was while I typed away on this post - Danny just came over and said “are you listening to Christmas music?” Yup and I may be getting a little teary eyed that it is already gone! So until next year….I hope that the fates allow us all to be together again then too!

Merry Merry!

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page