top of page

Health Check-In

Hello all and happy Wednesday!

Today’s health check in is pretty quick and basic. My health goals are literally three things:

1. Drink my water: this cold weather and my caffeine intake are both skyrocketing…. what does this mean? MUST HAVE WATER.

2. Say my prayers: yes - this is health related - it is keeping me centered and feeling strong - we are making this Advent count!

3. Breath very deeply: A few moments have hit me - work, family, scheduling - where I can’t seem to focus on one thing start to finish - even as simple as an email response. Where is that gonna get me - flustered! So in those moments I have literally taking (often audible) a deep, deep breath and then completed my thought process or task at hand. It has given me peace and a sense of accomplishment, even if it is just finishing that one email.

IMG_3019.JPG

Danny was admitted to the hospital yesterday. It is a tune-up of sorts, the only issue is with all the blood clot problems from our September hospital adventures, the option for a solid round of IVs is not as strong. This means the treatment plan is unclear, the timeframe is unclear, and the potential for frustrations for Danny and I are BIG. However we have made a commitment to be patient, go with the flow, put each other first, and just buckle up for a ride.

Yes, I want to try and keep running - no I won’t be participating in my 5K this weekend. Things are changing and even how I prefer to approach the hospital (be there AS MUCH AS I CAN) has to be different this time. So my three health focuses are crucial. They are helping to keep my emotions in check, feel centered under pressure, and remember that this is our life and we need to do what works best for us. It has only been 24 hours and I already have received several ideas on how to approach the hospitalization or how I should feel like this is “just another visit” or those that have offered to help aren’t doing it the way I would do it. Yet, I have taken the deep breaths….I have remembered no one else has to understand our life and we need to do what works for us, and perfection is not realistic, best we can do is just perfect enough. These realizations are actually remaining as a focus and I feel at peace with the now. Is there really more than I can ask for….I think not.

And most importantly…Danny is feeling better! So onward and forward…..and do my best to comfort this sad face…..

IMG_3020.jpg

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page