top of page

Weekend - That's A Wrap

Hello all and happy Monday! Can you believe one that it is Monday and two that we are just a little over a week until Thanksgiving? It is a crazy time of year - but I hope you are taking advantage and enjoying the season, remembering what it really is about! See this right here - they are small, they are furry - but they are mine and when I get stressed on our new life or the holidays coming or the never ending to dos I am trying so hard to take a deep breath and look at them…… I know, it sounds sorta silly - but I actually have been really trying to stop my anxiety or frustrations by literally STOPPING and LOOKING at them, remembering what good there is that surrounds me. And it works.

Bessette Family 2013

Another weekend in the books….and sadly not exactly what I had in mind, but I made the best of it. It started off on Thursday night - going to a wedding Friday I had the day off. This is the wedding that I had planned the hotel stay for Danny and I, and was really looking forward to some serious fun and us time. Thursday I got home and Danny is still really down and out with his health. The cold we had does seem to linger, so not sure if it is that or something else……he just has had a bumpy few weeks. Which left us in a weird space. So Danny decided to shake us out of it with a movie and margarita. Totally worked and I thought - smooth sailing for the rest of the weekend.

Friday was good - I was able to get up and be productive in the morning before packing up and heading to the wedding. We dropped Quinlan off with my in-laws and were off to the wedding. It felt great - in our new car, touring DC and Atheni and Kyle had the most beautiful ceremony! Kyle was choked up over his vows, Atheni looked magnificent in her dress, their families looked as if at any moment they all would explode with happiness and we squeezed hands during certinan spots and smiled at each other remembering our day. It was really a special celebration and you could feel the excitement for them as a couple, the journey they have been on to this moment, and the anticipation of what was to come. Atheni’s family is from Eritrea so watching some of their culture come through the crowd, some of the dress, the food, and the blessings….you knew you were witnessing the bond of family extending and the promise of a bright future. We are so happy for them and honored to be witness to their blessed start!

IMG_2892.JPG

IMG_2894.jpg
IMG_2897.jpg

As I had planned, Danny and I were going to stay at a hotel in hopes we could both enjoy a beverage or two and some nice alone time. But sadly Danny was just not feeling it. So he drove in case he did not want to have to wait for the wedding shuttle. We did not stay real long at the reception - don’t worry I got in a few dance moves and some really great conversations with one of my besties -but my saturday dreams of Old Town Alexandria window shopping, brunching and enjoying the leaves was pretty much out. Dan felt miserable and honestly I was really disappointed. What does this leave you with - two frustrated people. We had a few hot moments, but I am proud to say we have learned how to be patient with the other person (even after choice words :) ) and not allow for a bump to turn into a war….but I still was missing my husband. Sometimes I just want us to have what we planned, know what it would be like for him to feel good, or our biggest worry be parking…..but that is life.

IMG_2901.JPG

IMG_2889.JPG
IMG_2910.jpg

Where we both graduated High School From

After driving around Old Town and checking on our first place we lived as a married couple, we headed back to Dan’s parents for our Shiba and Danny’s hope for a nap- better than nothing. I was trying so hard to not let my frustration get the best of me and my mother-in-law felt badly for our dashed plans. So we did the next best thing - Starbucks and shopping. And it ended up being some odds and ends shopping, but I actually started my Christmas gift buying extravaganza. SHOCKING! Really ya’ll- that is not my style and I am so proud of myself. I actually have hopes of no all nighters wrapping this year…..fingers crossed, we have started earlier than ever before!!

IMG_2912.jpg

Danny logged couch time, but still was not feeling better - we had dinner and headed home. Sunday was pretty much the same for poor Danny….but I can say I was able to really get some things done and go on an AWESOME run! So for now, I am counting a win for lemons into lemonade. Now off to the races for another week of life!!

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page