top of page

Veteran's Day

We live in the United States of America. We are practicing Catholics, public conservatives, free to work, permitted to learn, walk the street openly, own a pet, and can choose our entertainment. Our family is a mix of Irish, Italian, German, French Canadian. We are blessed to be free….we are Americans.

Today is Veteran’s Day. We take this special day in the month of gratitude to honor those who have given to grant us freedom. Many give up their freedom, their comfort of home, time with their family, chance to choose their career path, how they spend their holidays and some the ultimate sacrifice - so we may live freely.

10374479_823657684322792_2561874182494462389_n.jpg

In my family we have a several people to thank - my grandfathers, my father-in-law, cousins ….but my favorite story to recall on this day is that of the Flaherty brothers. My grandfather, Ned Flaherty had four brothers - and they each choose a different branch in the military to serve- navy, marines, army and air force. My grandfather was in the navy as a child psychiatrist, sadly however I do not know the specifics of my other relatives military roles - some saw actions, one was a prisoner of war….each of their stories different - but all the same message, country first. Because of their story and service, their hometown of Waterloo ran a newspaper article on the Flaherty brothers that we still have framed in my parent’ home. We are blessed with a rich history of serving our nation.

1501669_584249198369673_7795327338695045606_n.jpg

The summer of 2009 my grandfather, “Gandaddy”, passed away from pancreatic cancer. As I have said our family is a crazy bunch and we always looked to him as the head. He was our silent leader - never one to jive for the spotlight…but when you watched him amongst our crazy spotlight craving moments, the twinkle in his eye was the definition of pride. My grandfather and I had a special bond and to know that one of the many gifts he has given me is freedom….I know I am blessed.

We buried Gandaddy in Arlington Cemetery September 2009. That whole time of losing him was a blur and that day no exception…but I have always known how lucky I was to have such a special bond with him. Surrounded by so many cousins and varying ages it was a blessing I was able to find the quiet moments to share with him. And since then I have gone to Arlington over holidays, in moments of excitement and moments of sadness….I have prayed to him and asked for his guidance and love. He always encouraged me saying he knew I would do something special or be the next Madeleine Albright. I am not sure how to that will work out….but I do know i have a pretty good cheerleader on my side, especially when I feel myself getting down.

Knowing the bond we share, knowing the gift he has given me of faith, family, freedom, knowing that I was able to grow up in one of the most amazing cities in the world as our home base….knowing all of this is thanks to him…I am especially grateful for Veterans today - my veteran and all veterans. We have the most amazing country with the opportunity to be some of the most amazing people the world has known with our gifts….thank you Veterans for procuring, protecting, and promising that freedom this day and everyday.

IMG_1919.JPG

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page