top of page

Weekend: That's a Wrap

It’s just another Manic Monday….except for its Tuesday…and that is just how manic Monday felt!! :)

Yesterday I started my new professional role and it was the first day I was full time and doing contract work….and it was a change of pace from my last few months of project based part time work. Overall it went GREAT! I really love where I am and it feels good to get back to a routine. The hard part - I am back in a routine. Last night trying to catch up on contract work and life and blog and to do - I suddenly remembered why your schedule is a little different with full time work! But this is nothing but a welcomed change and we will adjust.

In the adjustment phase I have to give a HUGE shout out to my hubby! He has been nothing short of amazing. Part of our deal with my adding so many more things professionally to my plate was that he would take over 95% of the dog, house, errand and cooking duties. Yesterday he did them ALL and with a huge smile, tons of words of encouragement and genuine excitement for my new experiences. When I started to question or worry (ok maybe lose it that I had to figure out how to do it all), he was there with a smile, back rub, and reminder that I am just adjusting….and I always feel a little crazed when I am adjusting. We will figure this out and find ourselves right where we had hoped to be a few months ago….so for now just do my best and keep adjusting.

IMG_2772.jpg

Our hopes of having a last “free” weekend full of productiveness, planning, and fun were not quite as we had planned. Friday was F-U-L-L! During the day I headed downtown to see some friends from two jobs ago (the one I LOVED and the folks I really miss). It was a really unique way to celebrate that last Friday before reality - back on my old stomping ground and recapping the journey we all had together a few years back. It left me feeling that the chapter had really concluded - with lessons, supportive peers, and now a fresh start. By the time I got home that afternoon Danny kissed me hello and then was off to hockey until late in the evening. We ended that night meeting up at one of Danny’s few local relatives homes. She was hosting Danny’s Aunt Monica, who had come to the area to run in the 2014 Marine Corp Marathon! By the time we had stopped in Danny was exhausted, Monica was preparing for her weekend ahead, and everyone was contemplating bed more than anything else…so we wished her luck and said we would see her on the course!

IMG_2765.JPG

Saturday had planned to be a big day of errands and car shopping! For the past year and some we have had just one car. Both working from home it made sense and saved us a few bucks…but life is shifting and we need a new car. However both Danny and Quinlan woke up sick. Danny was totally exhausted from his full Friday and worried about being left without an ounce of energy for Sunday’s race cheering. And Quinlan was having some sort of stomach issue, which was taken out on my Pottery Barn duvet. **SIGH**. Before we knew it Saturday had turned into a day of laundry, cleaning and couch time….without a new car. Not what we had planned but I managed to sneak in a pedicure, contract work and prep for Monday, and ending with Chinese food - not too bad at all.

IMG_2756.JPG

IMG_2757.JPG

We got up early on Sunday (starting with Starbucks - and I LOVE that Danny knows we need coffee as a start) and headed downtown to watch Danny’s Aunt run. I plan to share her AMAZING story on Wednesday - it is a health journey that will rock your world - needless to say in her 60s, running a marathon - it was incredible to be part of it. A few years earlier a good friend of ours had run in honor of CF and we had also followed him around the race. The course winds itself in and out of DC and VA and is a great way to see the city. Plus seeing all these runners of shape, size, age, color, - some even military amputees - it is an incredible sight that left me with chills and tears several times. If you ever get the chance to watch the Marine Corp Marathon - get there! It really is amazing.

IMG_2766.jpg

IMG_2779.jpg

Our race following was a success and we saw her on the course four different times. And Moni said thanks to my loud yelling (sorry to those eardrums around me), she was able to spot us! She did great and on top of just being an amazing athlete and pulling this goal out from within - she also used the chance to raise money for Danny’s COTA fund. We are just in awe of her efforts, success and her kindness in choosing to help us during her own milestone. We finished the race event with drinks and appetizers with Monica, Danny’s mom, and Monica’s husband Mike. It was a lot of fun and probably one of the most gorgeous fall days we have had so far! We are so glad we got to be part of this special day!

IMG_2770.JPG

IMG_2768.jpg

IMG_2771.jpg

The cloudy part of our weekend is related to a family rift which occurred from our wedding. Danny has one part of his family who has proven difficult in their interactions with us. Someday I may do a separate post about it - as it has really taught me a lot about my marriage, what it means to be a family, and when you have to just let people out of your life. They were around sporadically this weekend and it is always a cause for pause - however I am glad to say that Danny and I have learned to move on and let them live with their own anger. In fact as we start this whole new chapter of new and moving forward - it was kind of nice to have an issue that was such a problem for years appear and suddenly not mean that much anymore. As a pleaser and a big family person it is hard for me to imagine just letting people go…but we have and found peace with that decision. And truly at the end of the day the rest of the family has done nothing short of miracles to support us (marathon running for the first time in your 60s - come on!!) - and for that we are blessed.

MCM 1.jpg

photo 1.JPG

Hope your week does not feel like a marathon and you find some time to enjoy!

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page