top of page

Happy Birthday Danny!

Yesterday we celebrated a big 30th birthday for Danny. This comes after several fun celebrations along the way such as following the Orioles through the playoffs, dinner with family, and my sad attempt at clothes being a part of the big gift - but yesterday was the official celebration.

IMG_2721.jpg

Danny had chosen Ford’s Fish Shack (a local FAVORITE) for a dinner just the two of us. He had been pretty adamant about it being just us - and I felt really special that I was the one he chose to toast this next chapter with. In fact we talked about a regular old dinner and movie date and after the kind of dinner where we talked and laughed and forgot about the to dos and plans and budget….we decided to go home and just be together. We did not want this moment lost staring at a screen. Leading up to this birthday I kept feeling badly for not doing a big party or trip or SOMETHING - 30 is big and truly Danny was dreading it a bit. And yet in just a simple dinner and night together he grabbed my hand and said - that was nice, we haven’t done that in a while. It was good to say welcome to 30 quietly and just us two.

IMG_2710.jpg

IMG_2712.jpg

Going with that theme - I wanted a gift that would be about enjoying our time together and how far we have come. My big 30th gift is a night in a hotel right outside of the city. In a few weeks we have a wedding for friends to attend and I decided to turn it into a whole escape. Danny was really surprised….and I think I redeemed my bad shoe purchase…PHEW! I hope to make this a carefree, fun 48 hours where we really remember that life is full….but shared by two. And Monkey cards are our thing....even though we have given each other almost ALL of them...I found one!

IMG_2708.JPG

My family was super sweet to shower Dan with gifts too! My parents had enhanced Danny’s wardrobe….but with some hand selected items - and replacement of ones he already had….so they had great success in the fashion world. Katy decided to reward Danny’s newer coffee interest….as she enjoys a Starbucks as much as I - and got him his own gift card, which I really hope we will be sharing! Bridget had a really cute idea. As I have noted we are currently living with my family - which includes my two sisters….and with both Brig and Danny around O’Connell a lot, it has become very common for them to show up in the kitchen with the SAME t-shirt. DJO Hockey, O’Connell SUPERDANCE, and one time even a favorite LL Bean shirt of Dan’s that had gotten mixed up in the laundry! So she handed him a bag with a new LL Bean t-shirt, while wearing the same one. How creative Brig! And to top off the evening….Key Lime Pie…..a cherished dessert for the hubs!

IMG_2714.jpg

As Danny celebrates his 30 years of life and the many to come I want him to know how incredibly honored I am to be his wife. From our first days together I am so in awe of his passions. Sports, movies, music, reading, adventures…or even the oddest things - birds, fish, crabs - he lights up when he talks about them or can’t wait to introduce others to his world of knowledge on these topics. Danny is not the most talkative and he might not be the life of the party - but when you see him getting to know someone one on one or catching up with those close to him - again that magnetic energy is captivating. Hearing him dream of the future or talk about our experiences to come gives me the greatest sense of hope, security and HUGE case of butterflies - its like a force pulling me closer and closer to him. He truly is an incredible person and I am so happy to stand here and say Happy Birthday.

This birthday really can’t go forward without the reality of what it means. 30 feels huge, so huge in fact Danny has requested I STOP brining up the age! He is not where he had hoped to be professionally, his health is not the best, yet a blessing - even in its frustrations - he is doing pretty well - and what he dreams for us still sometimes seems farther away. However, Danny has worked hard and I know even with a life expectancy set in the 30s - he is not slowing down and he will continue to see growth and change. Reality can bite Dan - but we won’t let it bite too hard!

IMG_2720.jpg

As we close the birthday that has lasted a month, I want to say to my dear sweet husband - I wish you another 30 of even more blessings, more excitement, more changes, and even more mountains to climb. Our mountains have been high and rocky at times, they have felt overwhelming and both together and apart left us focusing on literally just going the next step. But I do not find it at all a coincidence that this birthday has come at a time where we stand on a flat path without a clear direction forward….but several roads to choose from and hand holding hands. We have worked for this time, we have prayed for these moments and although full of uncertainty and promises we hope to fulfill - I know they will be beautiful and only serve to continue the greatest story we know…our story. Happy Birthday, Danny - I love you.

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page