top of page

Health Check-In

W-E-D-N-E-S-D-A-Y…..it’s here! Health check-in…..

IMG_1267.JPG

Let’s start with what is working. Last week I spoke about winning the mental game. The last few weeks that has been on my mind (see what I did there?). Exercise and diet contribute to health which is not about “doing what your supposed to” and being chained by the shack-els of rules and regulations, but really about getting the best out of your body.

Of course the first things that come to mind are energy, staying well, feeling strong, and reducing anxiety or stress - but what about good skin, white teeth, long flowing locks? These sorts of things may not save your life - but let’s be real, they could make everyday feel a little bit sweeter? They aid in the practice of considering how to make choices that treat your body to its optimum condition…and that can really save your life!

So over the last few weeks I have been increasing my interest in being the best me with some new hair treatments, making sure I do my Clarisonic face cleaning routine and experimenting with new nail colors. Sure these are little things….but it just increases my interest in being a better me…and you would be shocked how that motivates you to walk the dog a few extra minutes or avoid that second slice of pizza.

IMG_1607.JPG
IMG_1740.JPG

Now let’s break down diet and exercise:

EXERCISE

If I have said this before, I have said it a million times….ok not really, but as I have said before, in my blog prep research it always said - honesty works best. So honesty moment: Danny said to me this week running requires time, good daylight etc - maybe you should consider another path. SIGH…. Yes it is a harder goal, yes it is not working so well right now….and yes in about two weeks my life/schedule will change a lot….should I not set my self up for further frustration?? It was a valid point.

But then I remembered the other type of frustration. The kind that comes from starts and stops and wanting something so badly. I want to run, I want to get over the hump and then start climbing the hills….so I am continuing. As of today the rest of this week and next I am in prep mode for my new job and updated schedule. I am hoping, praying….begging myself, my calendar, my body…..let’s get on this train! Heck let’s catch it before it gets away for good….let’s run.

In the meantime though I am exploring a few other options for exercise. Things I can do in addition to or when the day gets away from me and its too dark to run. The first option is YOGA. Danny has brought up wanting to try it and I too have dabbled before, finding it successful in pressing those muscles into hard work….but curious what it can teach me about finding the breath and reducing stress. And another “helpful hint” you see E-V-E-R-Y-W-H-E-R-E is to have a buddy for working out. Well Dan doesn’t have any plans for marathon training right now….but YOGA we could do together. So that is option one and I am thinking of starting this slow, with everyday 10 minute flow here.

The second option…the tried and true, whip your butt into shape, feel the pain of muscles you did not even know you had - JACKIE. Yes, my Jackie DVD is pretty much my reason for one time beast status. Yea this DVD kills me…but it works. And the even better part - it offers workouts in 15 minute segments. Danny always asks my why? Why do I not just do Jackie? It is a valid point - especially when I am trying to get my self healthy AND have a schedule problem. So yes, we may be dusting off that DVD as well…to be continued!

IMG_2094.JPG

DIET

Diet wise not too much to report. The good news is I am happy to see the lbs slowly still dropping a bit…sure not as fast as in my early 20s where I would stop drinking Starbucks for a week and lose 5 lbs, but it is happening. And sorry no #s - those bloggers who put the #s out - my hat to you….I want to be honest - but not that honest. My primary focuses are balanced eating and water…water, water, water. Again though I think the best success comes from winning the mental game - so to be blunt, feeling a bit lighter - that memory comes to you when you want to reach for that cookie.

What else is going on in my mental game?? Right around the firs time I started my running adventure I had just read Bethenny Frankel’s Book “Naturally Thin”. It is a great book with a lot of real life advice….plus I just love Bethenny and her no no-nonsense way of speaking. In the book one of the things that really stuck with me was using your food intake like a bank account - heavy lunch, lighter dinner sorta thing. She of course gives LOTS more ways of thinking with a real common sense to what life holds, that one approach has just always stuck with me. So if you are looking for some more mental power - pick up this book!

Until next week….keep on going!!

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page