top of page

Back from Vacation

?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" standalone="no"?Hello there!! The Bessette’s are back from vacation and we hit the ground running! We headed back home last Thursday so that Danny could be here for summer high school hockey camp. It lasted through the weekend and he is pretty excited for the year! I loved watching him get all his stuff packed up, prep for his lecture/classroom portion of camp and listen to him speculate about the new recruits, and season to come. My hockey for dummies book (a sort of joke gift from a past co-worker that I keep intending to really use) is really going to get the dust knocked off of it this season….I want to be part of the excitement too!

IMG_2386.jpg

IMG_2410.jpg

As for me, my weekend was full of laundry and C-L-E-A-N-I-N-G!!! Even that Shiba got a bath….and getting settled back at home. One of my favorite things about vacation is coming home and feeling refreshed. I always have a long to do list, lofty goals, and dreams of the new way of life for our little family. You know the amazing diet, the quality time we will enjoy (to keep that vacation feeling going), a new cleaning schedule, projects to complete and these always go well with post-vacation Danny. Once vacation wraps Danny has us getting into amazing shape, dreaming of a house, planning for kids, and budgeting every square of toilet paper! I have always said we are a little ying and yang, but this is one area where we enjoy similar thinking. We are getting back to our lives and the possibilities are endless……ahhhhh!

IMG_1256.JPG

Hockey camp put Danny out of the new life plan until Monday. Which after a weekend of hockey go, go, go - he needed a day of rest. My sister is captain of the dance team for our high school this year and she was hosting the kick off party at my parent’s house. Being a pretty big Bishop O’Connell High School fan and on the professional Heppes party prep team with my family that was my Friday and Saturday. Their theme this year is “Camera Ready” and I think our photo booth wall and decor was a perfect match! It was a fun night and I wish my sister a most wonderful Junior year of school!

IMG_2419.JPG
IMG_2422.jpg
IMG_2421.jpg
IMG_2423_edited.JPG

But before I knew it….Sunday was here. Sunday was a perfect day of NOTHING. I slept in, I read my fav blogs, and with my beloved Starbucks, enjoyed enough Bravo DVR to last me a lifetime. I was worn out and a day under blankets with my puppy was about the most perfect moment. Finishing the night with a delicious Chinese take out bag by my side I smiled, chugged down a few too many diet cokes and toasted to my favorite fatty food……the new life was starting on Monday (good-bye all my foodie habits).

IMG_2428_edited.jpg

I joke at the excitement for a new life to start after vacation….but with the year we have had this was the first vacation I can honestly say it has not been a totally forgotten effort. Danny and I are surveying the final few months of 2014 and start to 2015 and expecting big things for us! This means the foundation has to start now. We each have identified some serious changes, some long term goals and some hopes for what our dream life would hold (well the potential dream life - the one where Danny owns a tiger and lives on St. John’s is still reserved for dreaming…) and outlined what needs to happen for these goals to come to fruition. If our little world has taught us one thing it is that our plans are just that plans. The guarantee of them working is about as predictable as the weather - one storm and things are a little different. But we have also been shown that waiting and worrying will actually leave you in the same exact place….or worse off. What’s the answer - just start working on those goals and see where they lead you!

IMG_2432_edited.PNG

A few goals are underway and I will be reporting on my running journey, nutritional refurbish, and getting my groove back. We will be watching for Danny’s new sports venture, coaching extravaganza, and health quest for domination (aka - improve lung function and keep transplant off the to do list). Overall though, these Bessette’s are shaking off a bit of bumpy time and choosing to live a little larger, be more present, and beat the ticking clock …live your life……live your life…..live your life….live your life.

IMG_2318.jpg

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page