top of page

I Love Bethenny!

Bethenny Frankel is one of my favorite celebrities and on June 1 I had the chance to meet her, it was **AWESOME**! Grab a skinny girl cocktail….cause I am going to recall it all!!

Bethenny is a chef, a reality TV star, an author, a yogi, a talk show host, a business owner, a mom. I have been a faithful fan through most of her public experiences and have LOVED watching her journey unfold. As with many of her followers I found Bethenny on The Real Housewives of New York. She was gorgous, her body was lean and mean, and her words were hilarious. She just spoke to me and ALWAYS had me laughing, so I started to follow her story more closely.

When following her the first true moment that I identified with her and became inspired by her message was through her book, “Naturally Thin”. It was 2009 and I had reached a point of frustration with my body. I read the book and LOVED IT. Since that time I have not read it in its entirety often, but her position on food noise, learning how to approach eating so that nothing is off limits, and the tools for how to take control for approaching your health as a journey are still firmly in my mind. The idea of a journey is important, it suggests that perfection is not realistic and the road is going to be met with hills, but the point is to keep going. After reading this book I had a big shift in my health, my exercise, and my experience with food noise - which was perfect timing because I would be wearing a wedding dress just a year later.

Since that book I have read her other advice books -“A Place of Yes”, “Skinny Girl Solutions”, - and really loved them. Bethenny has the ability to feel like you are talking with a friend who has found success, but not without hard work, nor does believe herself to be an expert. Instead she believes in sharing what has worked and being open to what could work. You know she believes in her message, you agree that she is knowledgeable, but you never feel that she is giving you an absolute - she recognizes that everyone is on their own path and has to find what works for them.

When you watch or read Bethenny she always, ALWAYS, says what others are thinking, is brutally honest, and hilarious. I think that is one of the reasons I am so endeared to her - I love that. When I have a few cocktails in my blood or are really yucking it up with my friends or sometimes (more rare in these moments - I hope) just having a conversation- I have been known to be brutally honest and tell it like it is about my life. I figure if I say it first then I don’t have to wonder if people are thinking it or i don’t have to wait for them to say or ask about it etc. Watching Bethenny, reading Bethenny and hearing how she explains her experiences I get that same vibe. If she is brutally honest about herself - if she addresses the elephant in the room first, then it was on her terms with her words.

Bethenny’s Her personal life has had a lot of dramatic turns and twists, her brand continues to grow, her fanbase is only gaining momentum, all followed by a lot of judgment. This means she is learning to be graceful, humble and patient under fire. Through this challenges and her lessons, she has been open and honest about the pain, frustration and most recently - trying to not say it all first, in fact trying not to say anything. This adds to the overall message that I have so appreciated - we are all on this journey of life, learning to adjust as we go - with only one saving grace, remembering our priorities. The people and the focuses of our life - passions, careers, hobbies - these are what keep us sane. For Bethenny it is her business and her daughter - but she is a champion for finding what yours is and throwing yourself into it.

Bethenny’s life has gone a different path. She has never hidden that she “wants it all” - and yet her “all” is very different than maybe what others or the world define as “all”. Perhaps unplanned, her life continues to share her message of following your own path - and laughing all the way. I love - good for you Bethenny!

On Monday June 1 I took a vacation day and headed into DC. That morning I got all dolled up for my city adventure and it felt awesome. My daily looks have greatly improved since last year's work at home sweats uniform - but it is still very common that I am racing the clock and not 100% confident in the hair and make-up. On this day though, I had the time and loved getting ready at my own pace. Followed by the drive from Ashburn with a cool Starbucks ice tea, my music, the sun streaming across my lap - just what vacation days are all about!

My first stop in the city was at my friend Caitlin’s apartment. She has been a really special person in my life for many years. Yes - hailing form O’Connell, and our stories are full of crazy days in bathing suits, Walmart Adventures, DC bars, summer pool days, girls nights….and laughs that still make my sides ache when I think of them. She stood with me on my wedding day and her advice has been words that continue to live in my heart. Over the past few years her life has taken on a global path and our worlds were led very separately. But these days - she is back as a DC resident, a recent law graduate and best of all a fixture back in my calendar…..we caught up over afternoon wine and brie - does it get any better? People that leave marks on my heart - can always find a home there.

After some wine and a few refreshers for my DC driving skills, that have been lost after a few years of the suburbs full time, I was off to dinner with my friends Libby and Courtney. In a strange twist of faith I no longer work with Courtney but Libby does and we ALL laughed at where life has led us. These girls inspire me, love me, support me, laugh with me, and have offered a tissue to my tears. A night dining with them was a gift all on its own (and at another Bravo alumni’s restaurant no less!!), and yet the evening was just getting started!

Following the tour of delicious for our tastebuds - Libby and I headed into the rain to Bethenny’s event. With your ticket you got a signed copy of her new book and we were ecstatic!!

By the way - if you are looking for a friend to go with you to an event where you are meeting one of your fav celebs - Libby is the one! We were a bit late enjoying all our wine and food….so I was resigned to sitting in the back and just sorta listening along….not Libby - she was determined and hunted through the crowd for a spot. Once she found it, she was so sweet in asking if we could squeeze in, we were in like flint!!

We listend to Bethenny and Libby did not roll her eyes when I took notes, and when I squealed with excitement she did too! Then after the event when you could wait in line to meet Bethenny and have a picture taken, I said “well, it is getting late” and she said, “let’s just jump in line and keep chatting - I bet it will move fast”- and in our first few moments, someone offered us their ticket for the first group to meet her! The stars aligned!! And we met Bethenny!!

What a wonderful day and thank you to Bethenny for coming DC and making June 1 one for the books!!

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page