top of page

Weekend - That's A Wrap

It is Thursday and we have officially made it to the end of the week! Even after a four day weekend this week seems long an laborious…..I think it is just the sun that is constantly begging me to soak it up that makes each day indoors long. I love this time of year.

This past weekend I had both Friday and Monday at home too. Use it or lose it vacation time can be frustrating, but I am actually really enjoying it. Little breaks throughout the past few weeks have been wonderful. I have a chance to stop and enjoy everyday life a little bit, while having just a little extra time to work on projects, my blog, the house…..sure a beach trip for two weeks is always awesome, but my days of freedom at home in the sun have been just what the doctor ordered.

The rain and quick change of seasons have brought the Bessette household under a constant ant attack, and Friday we went to war level. We found some ants going into the pantry and before we knew it as we checked our food boxes - we had literally been overtaken. YUCK! Have you seen those commercials where people act as vacation days that get “used” up on stupid chores or activities?My leisurely day to work some, read some, soak up the sun, walk my pup, hang with my man - quickly transitioned to a total house scrubbing - starting with my pantry.

It was gross - and I still feel a little itchy when I think about it (#OCDproblems), but I have always envied pantries that look like the Container Store. Things are organized in groups and everything has a nice neat tupperware box to display the endless snack opportunities - but I figured that would never be a Bessette thing. Spending the money and time to achieve that goal pretty much assured it would never happen. Well thanks to the great ant attack of 2015 - my pantry is clean, organized, and could pass for an ad for tupperware.

And the truly best part? We finally were done cleaning, showered and ready for the day at 8PM that evening - so we had an unplanned night out. Margaritas, french fries, avocado, bacon, fish tacos, - all of these things found their way to my Friday night palette and it was divine. I enjoyed it so much - I forgot to capture the moment on film (#badblogger).

Saturday morning started bright and early - with a family brunch! My brother Grant, his girlfriend Kelly, and their pup Rico - had driven in from New York City for the weekend! They have not been to visit since Thanksgiving and we all were really looking forward to it. To kick off the visit - a bunch over the river at Grandmother’s in Maryland, complete with Flaherty estate tour for Kelly.

This house holds a really special place in the hearts of my family. The same house my mom spent most of childhood in, the same house we cousins grew up playing and running around (especially this dance floor), the same house where I said good bye to my grandfather, and my family toasted to my new husband and I - is where we still find our family matriarch. I love this place - and it has some pretty good character (or should I say characters? Republican ones for sure!). Sharing it with friends who visit always feels a little like checking out a time capsule, or opening a part of my heart that is tucked away….we are so blessed my Ganmommy is still part of our life and so is her home.

After brunch - totally Flaherty style, aka takes way longer than any brunch should, my parents, Grant and Kelly hit some VA wineries and I got in a walk with my pup and some work time before we gathered at the Heppes for a family BBQ. We had a top notch meal, ended with s’mores, and the cocktails were flowing….which meant the stories and jokes were too. As a kid spending a Saturday night at home can be a bummer. Having only your siblings to play with can feel boring - but as an adult, I can’t seem to get enough.

And speaking of not getting enough - no one could get enough of my brother’s pup, Rico. He is so playful, so tiny, and so friendly….we all loved on him a little too much. Lucky for me Quinlan was at home and blissfully unaware of my heart melting to another set of puppy paws.

Sunday morning we woke up and spent some time at home while my brother and Kelly hit up Homewood and Target prior to our group brunch (sidenote: any weekend that has TWO brunches is #WINNING!!! in my mind). And I have to laugh - my brother my be ten times cooler than I, leave in the swanky area of Brooklyn- and not even he can deny the magic that can be found on a weekend morning in Target.

We ended our visit with a late brunch at Anita’s - where I again enjoyed my plate a little too much and forgot to capture the moment. Only negative about this meal - a little too early for Margaritas since I knew I had mass and productivity scheduled for the rest of day. We ate, laughed, and did A LOT of planning for our upcoming Thanksgiving trip in NYC. It was a good visit and everyone was sweet enough to conclude it with an obligatory Bessette new house tour. Where, yet again I have to say, my brother has always prided himself on being pretty hip - and I have lived in some places before that he was not sold on the look -but this house got the official “cool” stamp of approval. I was grateful - and also a bit humbled how my little brother has somehow turned from a squirt, to someone whose approval I really appreciate. Time flies…. always.

And to round out the weekend - I spent ALL (like until 2AM) of Sunday evening and a good chunk of my free Monday blog plotting, planning, and dreaming (I am so so so excited!!!!) and hitting up the movies for a week day matinee. Danny and I watched Entourage when it used to be on HBO and felt it was only fitting to see the movie. It was good, but I think only good if you watched the show - and for me I was transported back in time to our dating years where this show was a regular activity - you know, pre DVR when you watched things when they were on?

A Monday away from commutes, email, deadlines and surrounded by my boys and fun……. it was a really good day, and a little better use of vacation time than ant terminating.

Hope you had a great weekend with family too and the summer is full of nothing but fun in the sun, sans BUGS!

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page